top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture#cruzstrong

Mayo - Day 2 & Day 3

🌻 Day 2 Recap - Blood work done ✔


Shout out to Mr. Ngop who is a Phlebotomist here at Mayo. He said the g is silent. We joked because he said that g has been a pain his whole life. I told him it stood for great. So yes, I scored favorite patient of the day points. I did tell him I'm a difficult stick, and he used a warm towel. He got me on the first try. Said a warm towel is a cheap way to get the vein ready and pliable. We joked again that since I was the fav patient, I got the warm towel, spa treatment. 🤭


🌻 Day 3 Recap - Extensive EMG. ✔ This test was an hour long. It measures my nerve response in muscles. They have particular ways they do this test at Mayo. They explained positioning and a thorough read are important. Left me a little sore but doable. I did sleep around 6pm all the way through until this morning at 5am.


"Checkering" at Mayo - my third test was only available out until April 2nd. It's a muscular movement test in a Movement Lab. Checkering is like flying stand by for a flight. So Day 2 in the morning we tried to checker for the movement lab to get that done Day 2 instead of 4/2. We didn't have luck in that area but they were able to get my appointment scheduled for Day 4, Friday, 3/26. Thank God - no extended stay to original itinerary. Feeling blessed.


🌼Everyone has been amazing here. They are so very patient friendly, patient, calm, accommodating. Impressive.🌼


While here I was able to visit the flower boutique (mastectomy center) and get some items ordered.


Getting ready for Day 4...


“Caminante, no hay camino, se hace camino al andar” — Antonio Machado

English translation: Walker, there is no path, you create the path as you walk.




120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Typo

I slept Fri midnight until the next day, Sat at 530pm. I accidentally wrote Monday instead of Saturday. I have extreme fatigue some days. It robs me of my day. This blog is for me to track my symp

Rest

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page